AutoDirector forum

The AutoDirector support and advice forum

Price Issue! Adding 12 to the front of all prices?

Post Reply

Page: 1

Author Post
Member
Registered: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Hi,

When i enter a price for a vehicle it adds 12 in front of ALL prices? I am using the 30 day evaluation of the latest version(1.9)

Can someone help?

Thanks,
Graeme
Administrator
Registered: Apr 2008
Posts: 324
Hi Graeme,

I'm guessing you mean it shows '12' before the price when viewing the showroom (not adding vehicles in the admin panels)?

If so, it sounds like a character encoding issue. See #6 in the troubleshooting guide.

I hope that helps.
_______________
AutoDirector administrator
Member
Registered: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Hi Craig,

It's when i go to the vehicle administration page after i've added a vehicle. When i press the save button after entering the vehicle details i can see a square appear in front of the price before the page refreshes.

Thanks,
Graeme
Member
Registered: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
http://sdusedcars.co.uk/Autodirector/

default login and password.
Administrator
Registered: Apr 2008
Posts: 324
That sounds odd. Does the '12' remain on the price after saving? e.g. 999 becomes 12999?

Which browser are you using? Are you running any form-filling software which could affect it?
_______________
AutoDirector administrator
Member
Registered: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Yes the 12 remains on the price after i save. No, not running any form filling software.

Running IE8 and also get the issue in Firefox 6.0
Member
Registered: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
I have a mysql06 database
MySQL charset: UTF-8 Unicode (utf8)
Administrator
Registered: Apr 2008
Posts: 324
I can replicate the issue. Can you double-check that includes/adsite.php has been uploaded in ASCII rather than BINARY mode. That goes for all the files except images.

I don't think it's a MySQL issue because the character is modified prior to any database updates.

However, your pages are being served in UTF-8 even though the pages are marked as ISO-8859-1. That sounds like a potential clash to me.
_______________
AutoDirector administrator
« Last edit by Craig on Wed 23 November, 2011 16:05. »
Member
Registered: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Can i change the pages to be served as "iso-8859-1"
??
Administrator
Registered: Apr 2008
Posts: 324
I'm not sure why your server's insisting on UTF-8? It shouldn't. I suspect there's a setting somewhere. You can switch to $ which solve the issue, but that's only a temporary fix.

Have you checked it was uploaded correctly?
_______________
AutoDirector administrator
Member
Registered: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
includes/adsite.php was uploaded correctly.

In phpMyAdmin before i install the autodirector software the "Collation"is set to latin1_swedish_ci?
Administrator
Registered: Apr 2008
Posts: 324
I don't think that's a problem. It's more likely to be a server or PHP setting which is forcing pages to UTF-8 when they're not.
_______________
AutoDirector administrator

Post Reply

Page: 1