AutoDirector forum

The AutoDirector support and advice forum

Can not send enquiry

Post Reply

Page: 1

Author Post
Member
Registered: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
I purchased AutoDirector a while back (version 1.6). The send inquiry function WAS working just fine. Nothing was changed but one day it stopped working. When trying to send an inquiry, it says:

Quote
sending your enquiry...

then...
Quote
Sorry, but your enquiry is taking too long. Please try again later.


I just upgraded to version 1.8 but the problem still exists. Can you help me out or point me in the right direction so that I may debug this issue?

Thanks,
Andrew
Member
Registered: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Update:

I did some further digging, and this is what is being "submitted" when the submit button is pressed:

http://thecarcoop.com/inventory/emailsales.php?site=carcoop&id=95&callback=EventSendResult()&url=http%3A//thecarcoop.com/f_inventory.html&name=Andrew%20Bucklin&email=test@test.com&tel=555-555-5555&comments=Testing%20123


And here is the output from the webserver:
Quote
406
Not Acceptable

An appropriate representation of the requested resource /inventory/emailsales.php could not be found on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
Member
Registered: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Another update:

It seems as though if I remove the http%3A// from the URL I posted earlier, the inquiry seems to go through. After doing some research, it seems this is probably due to the Apache mod_security that is turned on by default.

Is there anyway we can change the code to remove from the URL that is passed to the emailsales.php script?
Member
Registered: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Final Update:

After a bit more work, I have fixed the issue. For those that are having the same problem, here is what I did:

Opened carlist.js in the client folder.
Found the line that read:
F+="&url="+escape(setup.thisURL);


I changed that to read:
F+="&url=www.Domain.com";

Now, instead of passing the URL of my inventory page where I have the inventory system integrated into, it just returns a generic static value. The reason for this change was that the domain URL it was passing included "http", which my web server did not like. Most shared web hosting providers will have mod_security turned on, and at least with my host, having the "http" in that value, which was passed to the PHP script was throwing up flags causing it to crash. Now, I just have "www.Domain.com" as the URL (note, no more "http") and the inquiry form works great now!

Also, while I was at it, I changed some wording under "setup.text". This was purely cosmetic, because in the US, we say "inquiry" instead of "enquiry". If you change these as well, ONLY change them in the section under setup.text (lines 3-49) and that's it!
Administrator
Registered: Apr 2008
Posts: 324
Thanks for the information about Apache mod_security Andrew. It's not something that I heard of causing problems before, so I'm not sure it affects most hosts, but it's certainly something we'll keep an eye on. Strictly speaking, the "http://" doesn't need to be passed back, so it's certainly something we'll look into further.
_______________
AutoDirector administrator
Member
Registered: Oct 2009
Posts: 23
I have auto director running 4 clients showrooms. I am only getting this problem on one of them www.stephenfostercars.co.uk works just fine but www.mrdcars.co.uk Is having the problem. Both on my shared hosting account. Any ideas.
Member
Registered: Oct 2009
Posts: 23
Craig wrote
Thanks for the information about Apache mod_security Andrew. It's not something that I heard of causing problems before, so I'm not sure it affects most hosts, but it's certainly something we'll keep an eye on. Strictly speaking, the "http://" doesn't need to be passed back, so it's certainly something we'll look into further.


Hello. I have a client on the phone screaming at me. Could you shed some light on why this one site is having the problem but the others I run are working fine. Any help would be great.

Thanks

Mark
Member
Registered: Apr 2008
Posts: 67
I was being nosey bu cant find your mrdcars site at all?
also craig - is this you as well as autodirector?
http://www.yourcarsite.co.uk/ selling your system?
Administrator
Registered: Apr 2008
Posts: 324
Snizbit wrote
I was being nosey bu cant find your mrdcars site at all?
also craig - is this you as well as autodirector?
http://www.yourcarsite.co.uk/ selling your system?


I can't find mrdcars either? That's possibly the reason it's failing? The domain recently expired (10 August).

No, yourcarsite.co.uk is not affiliated with AutoDirector. They are using our system to power car websites, but anyone who purchases the product is entitled to offer that kind of service.
_______________
AutoDirector administrator

Post Reply

Page: 1